Canterbury Film Society is a non-profit incorporated society and a registered charitable organisation. CFS is a member of the New Zealand Federation of Film Societies, which has been screening films throughout the country for over 60 years. Each year film societies screen to an estimated total combined audience of 20,000 New Zealanders.

Many distinguished and innovative films are never released commercially or shown on television in New Zealand. Film societies specialise in screening these quality films that cannot be seen anywhere else: documentaries, features from around the world, classics, director retrospectives and national cinema seasons. We also showcase selected New Zealand films every year, with the support of the New Zealand Film Commission.

The film society season is programmed each year with the aim of enhancing members’ understanding of world-wide film culture and our country’s place in it. We do this by showing international work of the highest standard, side by side with New Zealand films.

Film Society membership is open to everyone. We operate on an annual subscription basis because (with just a few exceptions) we have non-commercial screening rights, and must screen to members only. Your annual subscription contributes to programming services, venue hire and administration costs.

All film societies are run by committees of volunteers from the general membership. The Canterbury Film Society committee is elected at our AGM in March each year. Current committee members are Dale Deavoll (President), Helen Mann, Dakota Gibbs, Mat Daniel, Michelle Smith and Erika Wilson.

We acknowledge the generous assistance of the Embassy of France, the Goethe Institut, Creative New Zealand, the Film Archive and the New Zealand Film Commission.